top of page

Wedding Beauty: Let's Talk About Snails!

Caring for your skin is always very important, but lets be honest, it's WAY more of a priority around your wedding! We all want to be a glowing bride on our wedding day! Skin care is a big part of that! So, let's talk about snails! Now...before you run away screaming "Ewwwww!" hear me out...

So what is this about snails and what do snails have to do with skin care?

Snail shells

First, let me explain why snails are the miracle you have been looking for. Did you know that in snails themselves, snail filtrate (or snail mucus) is produced to heal cuts on the snails' soft bodies that are caused when they injure themselves on pebbles, rocks, and many other things in their natural environment? Snail mucus prevents bacteria from taking over their small nicks and cuts they get in daily life!

So what does this mean for your skin?

It means it is a miracle product! When my (at the time) fiance got 3 horrible scratches on his neck from our dog's claws 6 days before our wedding, I flipped! These cuts would now be in ALL of our wedding photos! Noooooooo! I was not about to let that happen! Then I remembered all the snail products I use on my face daily and I remembered the healing property of snails. I decided to give it a shot! I applied my "Snail Gel" to his neck every night before bed. (Yep! Just one time a night!) By our wedding day, you couldn't see a mark! No joke!!!!!

This healing power is not just good for cuts and scrapes--imagine what it can do for your skin on a regular basis! Over time, I have seen a reduction in acne (thanks to the anti-bacterial properties!), a reduction in discoloration and fine lines, and my skin is softer and smoother than ever!

So which snail product is right for you? I personally have 3 that I love. I use all 3, depending on my skin needs at the time. I refer to them as my "Snail Gel," "Snail Cream," and "Snail Goo." The names are mainly based on the texture of each one. The gel and the cream are great for all skin types; the snail goo, however, is a bit heavier and may not be the best for oily skin (though, it has never broken me out or made me oily where I do get oily, so it might be fine!)

Snail Gel

TonyMoly Snail gel


This is great for oily skin, as it is very lightweight. It has about the consistency of an aloe-vera gel. It is lightweight, absorbs into the skin fairly quickly, is clear and lightly floral scented. I use this one on my face, as well as on my entire body! This was actually my first-ever Korean skin care purchase and it's the one that hooked me on Korean skin care! I saw a difference in my skin the very next day. After a few weeks, people actually started commenting on how great my skin looked! I noticed fewer fine lines, less discoloration and the light acne I did have was completely gone!

Snail Cream

This is great for all skin types, from dry to oily! It is basically the consistency of lotion, except a bit...off. It's hard to describe. It is a bit stickier/slimier than a normal lotion. This one is honestly my favorite of the 3. This is my new year-round staple in my skin care routine! I don't think I can ever live without this one. It also has reduced all the same things as the snail gel does but this one combats my dryness and rough skin texture more than the gel. I even use it as an under-eye cream and it helps combat my dark circles and puffy eyes! I personally believe everyone should try this one!

Snail Goo

This is great for dry skin! Like seriously, if you have dry skin or even just dry patches, you NEED this one! I love to use this in the winter when my skin is dry and flaky! It is relatively heavy, so I'm not sure I'd recommend for oily skin. However, my skin is dry but I do (well, did before I switched to Korean skin care!) suffer from some acne. This might be pretty heavy and feel a little greasy, but it has NEVER broken me out. If you have dry skin you HAVE to get this miracle in a jar! The only thing I should warn you about is that you need to put this on at least 15 minutes before bed or you will probably stick to your pillow a bit (or in my case, go to hug my dog and end up looking as furry as him!).

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

bottom of page