top of page

Gifts for your Groom...To Gift, or not to Gift.


Gifts for your groom - to gift or not to gift

Have you heard that you are "supposed to" get a gift for your groom on the day of the wedding?

Some brides give their groom cuff links, a watch, or a flask. Lately it’s become popular to give them a photo album full of naughty "boudoir” photos, etc. My question is, why?

I understand giving gifts to bridesmaids, parents, etc. because they all helped you plan your wedding, they stood by your side, etc., and gifts are a nice way to show your appreciation.

But why get the groom a gift? Honestly, most grooms don’t help that much with the wedding planning, and even if they do, there's nothing to thank them for since it’s their wedding, too! Unlike your bridesmaids, who were given a “job” to do for your wedding, had to buy a special dress and shoes they will never wear again, and spent money on your bachelorette party, the groom is a beneficiary of all that help because he is invested in the wedding.

Weddings are stupid expensive to begin with, so why add to that cost by getting each other gifts?! Shouldn’t marrying you be a gift in itself? I know when I married my husband, I didn’t care if he gave me anything at all because in my mind, marrying him WAS my gift.

Gifts for your groom...to gift or not to gift

I’m not saying you shouldn’t get your groom anything if you really want to. I’m just saying maybe step back and think about how necessary it really is. Would your groom rather have a pair of cuff links that he will likely never wear again, or would you be better off spending the money on a fancy dinner on your honeymoon or a future date night instead?!

If you really want to get a gift he can open on the day of the wedding, why not consider doing something like a sweet love note or a silly little coupon book he can use throughout your lives together? If you want to save money, free or very cheap sentimental gestures make wonderful gifts.

If you absolutely must get your groom something of monetary value, consider something he would actually use often (like a PS4, a bacon-of-the-month subscription, etc.) or something really personal that he would love.

Let me know your thoughts on “Groom's Gifts” in the comments!

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

bottom of page