top of page

Real Bride: Brooke Winzenburg


Your name: Brooke Winzenburg

Groom's name: Mack Winzenburg

Wedding date: June 24, 2017

City, State: Knoxville, TN

Tell us more about you!

How long have you been together?

3 years (as of July 19th)

How did he propose? (Or how did you propose!)

We have done long-distance for 2-3 years of being together because of college. I knew he would be proposing soon because we had talked about it a lot and I was joining him at the same college the following year. We went out to a nice dinner and when we got back to his parents' house, I could see his dad through the window working on his computer. That was when I decided nothing was happening that night--everything was too normal. I heard music playing, but he said it was probably his brother having friends over for a bonfire, which was a regular occurrence. We went inside and he took my hand and led me out to the back porch. There were candles leading to the grass, and out in the yard was a rectangular gazebo platform with lights strung around it; I later learned he and the best man built and painted the whole thing. There was music playing as he led me out to it. We danced to a few of our favorite songs, he said so many sweet things, and then got down on one knee. It was a total surprise! I then heard cheering as his parents and my mom came outside. His friend (also the best man) was hiding in the garden playing the music while my friend (also the maid of honor) was hiding in the bushes taking photos. I will include a few of those photos as well.

Proposal

What was your favorite part of the wedding?

My favorite part was dancing with everyone. The wedding jitters had mostly faded and it was nice to just let loose. I have a large family and am close with a LOT of people I’ve known most of my life, and it was amazing having all my worlds collide in one big room with smiling faces.

Wedding Party Silly

What went wrong with your wedding?

Oh boy. So my husband and I are both 20 and in college, ergo low budget. A friend of mine from both school and church was in beauty school at the time and

does amazing work, so I asked her to do my wedding hair and airbrush makeup. She was thrilled! She even offered for that to be my wedding gift from her. We started off agreeing to have her come to the venue and do my hair and makeup. I texted her a couple of weeks prior to the wedding to confirm. She then said she got scheduled some clients that day and that I should go to her work at 9:15 that morning. I agreed, because I know things can get busy and mixed up. My cousin and I showed up at the salon at 9:15 and I let the front desk people know what was going on. They seemed a little confused, and they looked at their computer and one walked away. They then told me that she had a full book today and she said she could “try to get to you between clients.” I was stunned. Everyone looked at me for an answer. I called Belleza spa and they gladly took me right away. My sister-in-law even paid for it over the phone without telling me (she’s a godsend).

Two of my flower girls were my twin cousins, age 5. They did not show up until 5 minutes AFTER the wedding was supposed to start. Ironically, they lived closest to the venue. Somehow my aunt lost track of time???

Lastly, one of the groomsmen was absolutely wasted during the ceremony and reception. The groomsman standing behind him had a hand on his back to keep him upright during the ceremony. Apparently after my husband and I had our send-off, he was passed out on the stairs holding a cigar.

Did you find any tricks to save you money?

DIY and thinking realistically. I made the bridesmaids’ necklaces and earrings, my husband's ring was $20 on Amazon, mine was $80 from Pandora. I got my garter from a sex shop for $8. We did finger foods on disposable plates rather than full meals with fancy china. Use your connections! Our venue was free

because it belongs to a family member. We saved a fortune on photos by using up-and-coming wedding photographers, and they turned out beautifully! We saved money, they got wedding photography experience. We got sheet cakes at Sam’s Club for the guests and a small round cake for us. Finally, let people help you. My friends and family are the most generous people and wanted to help in any way possible. My aunt and uncle, unbeknownst to me, paid for my dress. My stepdad paid for my veil, and he and 2 close friends paid for my sash.

Bride getting ready

If you could go back and redo it, would you change anything and what?

I would make sure I had a set hair appointment, I would do reminder calls for the wedding party to show up on time and sober, and I would go to bed earlier the night before.

Do you have any advice for new brides?

Don’t freak out over little details. Don’t spend more than you have or go into debt for one day. You will feel like you are going to throw up right up until the ceremony is over, and that is okay. It is perfectly normal to feel anxious and

queasy. Enjoy your reception. You can make the rounds and say hello to everyone, but it is okay to cut conversations short; people know you have a lot going on and will not get offended (unless they are immature and selfish). Eat!!! I had to force myself to sit down and eat and drink to make sure I wouldn’t pass out. The party kind of dies when the bride is unconscious on the floor.

Bride and Groom Exit

Did you over-plan or under-plan or was it just right?

I think I planned just right. The things that went wrong were out of my hands so I did not feel over- or under-prepared.

Did any of your vendors knock your socks off?

Our brother-in-law spent 36 hours smoking pork for the wedding (he was drunk and sleep-deprived for the wedding and that’s okay, he deserved it). My mother-in-law and sister-in-law took care of the rest of the food and I am forever grateful! It was beautiful and delicious.

Did any of your vendors disappoint?

One of the sheet cakes was supposed to say “The Winzenburgs” but instead said “The Winsburgs” so that made me a little upset.

Green Bay Packers Cake

What was one (or more!) special element in your wedding that isn’t in most?

Our song list was one. We both love older music. Our recessional song was You Make My Dreams Come True by Hall & Oates, our first dance was Faithfully by Journey, and our personal song is Africa by Toto, to name a few. I danced to Tootsie Roll by 69 Boyz with my best friend/second “mom” which is something I will never forget. We also did the same dance to the same song as at our senior prom. My mom handled all of the decorations and it was perfect. I got married in a building that my grandfather started as a technology school in 1947 and was passed to my uncle in the early 2000's. Our wedding favors were French dragees (or Jordan almonds) which are a French wedding tradition. My stepdad’s parents came from France just days before the wedding and made those as our gift. Lastly, my husband and I were both virgins when we got married. That’s a special element that isn’t in most!

Ceremony Space

What do you wish you’d spent more on (whether you were able to or not)?

The honeymoon. We rented a cabin in the Smokies for 4 nights and it was beautiful, but it would have been nice to afford to stay longer or even do something extravagant like go to New Zealand.

Where do you feel like you could have saved money or where you overspent?

I truly believe we did everything at a reasonable price. I honestly don’t think we

overspent on anything.

How many guests did you invite vs how many RSVPed vs how many actually came?

-Invited: 200+

-RSVPed: ~150

-Actually came: ~150

Garter Grab

Caterer: Mother-in-law

Planner: Me

DJ/Band: One of my best friends and her brother

Dress Designer: David’s Bridal (clearance rack)

Bridesmaids designer: David’s Bridal (online clearance)

Officiant: Wes, my middle/high school youth pastor

Florist: A generous family friend’s friend, whom I've never met and who did it for free

Jeweler: Craigslist (Zales engagement ring), Amazon, Pandora

Hair stylist: Belleza Salon and Spa

Makeup Artist: My mom

Invitations: Vistaprint

Rentals: All Occasions

Bartender: Someone my aunt and uncle hired as our wedding gift, plus alcohol

Transportation: My car

Bride and Groom First Dance

Bride Dancing

Wedding Exit

Bride and Groom

Groom and Groomsmen

Wedding Party

Bride Walking Down the Aisle

Wedding Kiss

Wedding Ceremony Exit

Bride and Groom with bouquet

Exchanging Rings
Bride and Groom

Sweetheart Table

R2D2 as Bride

Groom at window

Groom getting Ready

First Look with Dad

Bride and Family

Wedding Rings

Silly Groomsmen


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

bottom of page