top of page

Real Bride: Kenzie Wright


Kenzie had an absolutely stunning rustic wedding at the MOST beautiful wedding venue in Tennessee! If her venue doesn't floor you, her dress certainly will. And you have to check out the adorable photo of her and her husband with their adorable horses! This is definitely a wedding you don't want to miss!

Your name: Kenzie Wright

Grooms name: Marcus Wright

Wedding date: 09-02-2017

City, State: Nashville, TN

Tell us more about you!

How long have you been together?

Marcus and I have been together for 6 consecutive, amazing years. They've by far been the best years of my life.

How did he propose? (Or how did you propose!)

Funny story actually, one night all my girls were insisting we all go downtown (with our guys of course) and I was trying my hardest to bail, due to getting food poisoning the night prior and not being able to make it very far, if you know what I mean! No matter what I said, they still insisted that Marcus and I go. Little did I know, they had a plan up their sleeve that they weren't going to let fall through. I sucked it up, and we all went to dinner before going downtown. I had no idea of anything, not the slightest clue. So, we get downtown and go in a few places then everyone's like, "Let's go on the pedestrian bridge," and stupid ole me yells out "Omg why, who feels like walking up there because I sure don't!" LOL once again, they made me go. Once we got up there everyone was taking pictures together standing on the bridge with the Batman building in the background, and Marcus and I were up next for our picture. As we were posing, I felt him reach into his pocket and watched him get down on his knee, and that's when he asked to marry me. It was nothing less than perfect! We drew a big crowd, I know that much! I'm thankful they made us be in attendance that night, because that's when my life changed forever!

What was your favorite part of the wedding?

I have multiple, one being our cake cutting. I knew he was going to make sure he smeared that cake all in my face. Therefore, I thought to myself, "I've gotta get to him before he gets to me!" Well, I did. And while doing so, he got a nice little nose bleed because I hit him so hard trying to smear the cake in his face! Yes, it was accidental, but we couldn't help but laugh it off!

Secondly, come time for the garter toss, he's whispering to me asking me what he's supposed to do. I explained it to him (he had a whole year and a half to research what that consisted of). He gets it off and it's time to toss it back to the gentlemen; instead of making it into anyone's hands, it made its way into the chandelier, and yes, we got that on picture and video. Everyone's faces were priceless!

What went wrong with your wedding?

Oh my, I feel like I could go on and on about this one. But, it's only things I realized that nobody else did because they didn't know my vision or plans. I got so caught up trying to make sure every little thing was perfect, that I ran out of time before I could even decorate the ceremony site. Thankfully, my mom took that task on and made it perfect. Bought everyone's boutioneers and NONE WERE WORN. The guys forgot them in the fridge and I didn't realize until the night was over! My dad and I spent forever building a perfect backdrop for everyone to take pictures in front of; well, my dad put it in a not-so-obvious place so nobody realized it, nor did anyone know about the games that I spent a fortune on because those were hidden along with the backdrop. Forgot my wedding-day earrings and bracelet so had to make due with what I had as we were 2 hours away from home!

Did you find any tricks to save you money?

No, considering I went WAY over budget!

If you could go back and redo it, would you change anything and what?

No, because everything happens for a reason and even with all the mishaps, the day was perfect and regardless we became one!

Do you have any advice for new brides?

Don't sweat the small things, like worrying spending two weeks on a playlist like I did cause likely only about 15 of those songs will be played! Be excited, not so stressed that you can't even enjoy the time coming. and do yourself a favor GET A DAY-OF COORDINATOR. I so regret not doing that! Better yet, a wedding planner!

Did you over-plan or under-plan or was it just right?

I'd say it was just right.

Did any of your vendors knock your socks off?

Everyone, absolutely! Couldn't have asked for a better team.

Did any of your vendors disappoint?

DJ slightly disappointed me.

What was one (or more!) special element in your wedding that isn’t in most?

A first look with just the bride, groom and photographer. It's not something everyone does, but I encourage it. The sweetest thing in the world.

What do you wish you’d spent more on (whether you were able to or not)? Nothing. It was all great just the way it was.

Where do you feel like you could have saved money or overspent?

Over spent on decorations because I bought all of my own things. Def could've cut back on that! AND alcohol, I guess i thought I was going to have 1,000 guests, bought way to much. I have enough alcohol to last me the rest of my life.

How many guests did you invite vs how many RSVPed vs how many actually came?

Invited 135, 110 RSVP, 110 showed.

Wedding venue: Cactus Creek Barn in Dickson TN

Caterer: The Bakery Box (White House, TN)

Photographer: Marc Billingsley

Videographer: Peerless films

Planner: Myself

DJ/Band: Came with photographer

Dress Designer: Can't remember.

Bridesmaids designer: Levkoff

Menswear: Bridal Warehouse

Officiant: Bobby Howard

Florist: Gardens on Main in Lebanon TN

Jeweler: Jared's

Hair stylist: Hunter Paige (Codee)

Makeup Artist: Hunter Paige (Codee)

Cake: The Bakery Box

Invitations: Etsy

Rentals: Music City Tents and Events

Bartender: Smedevents

Transportation: Us!

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

bottom of page